The FSB established in 2011 six RCGs, one each for the Americas, Asia, Commonwealth of Independent States, Europe, Middle East and North Africa, and Sub-Saharan Africa region,  to expand upon and formalise the FSB’s outreach activities beyond the membership of the G20 and to reflect the global nature of the financial system. The FSB Regional Consultative Groups are governed by an Operational Framework and provide a structured mechanism for:

  • interaction of FSB members with non-members regarding the various FSB initiatives underway and planned;

  • promoting implementation within the region of international financial policy initiatives; and

  • the regional group members to share amongst themselves and with the FSB their views on vulnerabilities affecting the financial system, on FSB initiatives and on other measures that could be taken to promote financial stability.