View the Standard

The Principles, which are voluntary and designed to complement existing international financial principles or guidelines, are applicable across all financial market sectors. They  cover ten key areas:

  • legal, regulatory and supervisory framework;
  • the role of oversight bodies;
  • the equitable and fair treatment of consumers;
  • disclosure and transparency;
  • financial education and awareness;
  • responsible business conduct of financial services providers and authorized agents;
  • the protection of consumer assets against fraud and misuse;
  • the protection of consumer data and privacy;
  • complaints handling and redress; and
  • competition.

International Endorsement: The high-level Principles were endorsed by the G20 at the Cannes Summit (4th November 2011) and by the OECD Council as a Recommendation (17 July 2012).