The FSB seeks academic paper submissions for a plenary session on the ‘Post-implementation Evaluations of the G20 Financial Regulatory Reforms’ at the 2019 Annual Meeting of CEBRA. The conference is co-organised by the School of International and Public Affairs at Columbia University, the Federal Reserve Bank of New York and the research centre for Sustainable Architecture for Finance in Europe (SAFE) at Goethe University and will take place at Columbia University in New York on 19-20 July 2019.

The FSB is supporting the full, timely and consistent implementation of the G20 financial regulatory reforms designed to increase the resilience of the global financial system while preserving its open an integrated structure. To this end, the FSB has developed a framework for the post-implementation evaluation of the effects of reforms. The framework aims to guide analyses of whether the G20 reforms are achieving their intended outcomes, and to help identify any material unintended consequences that may have to be addressed, without compromising on the objectives of the reforms. The plenary session will provide an opportunity to showcase examples of such evaluation studies.

Authors are invited to submit papers on the post-implementation evaluation of the G20 financial regulatory reforms. The topics of interest include the core areas of the G20 financial regulatory reform agenda:

  • making financial institutions more resilient (including Basel III);

  • ending too-big-to-fail, including resolution regimes, total loss-absorbing capacity, and global systemically important financial institutions;

  • making derivatives markets safer (including over-the-counter derivative reforms); and

  • enhancing the resilience of non-bank financial intermediation.

Other topics of interest include the effects of reforms on financial intermediation and papers on methodological approaches relevant for the evaluations and theoretical and empirical work on the social costs and benefits of financial regulatory reforms.

Papers should be submitted via the SAFE website by 2 February 2019.